What Is the NCCP and What Does It Mean for Me?

The NCCP is the National Continued Competency Program. The NCCP was constructed using similar methodology to that of the American Board of Medical Specialties.  It streamlines the recertification process for EMTs, AEMTs, and Paramedics when renewing the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) certification, and consists of 3 sections of education: National, State/Local, and Individual.

50% of the continuing education hours come from National content, 25% from State or local requirements, and 25% from individual (personal) choice topics. If a State or County does not have a requirement, then those hours can move up to National and be added to that requirement.

Please see the table below for an hourly breakdown corresponding to the various medical technicians, and click on the links to get more detailed information from the NREMT.

Level National State/ Local Individual Total Hours
Paramedic 30 15 15 60
AEMT 25 12.5 12.5 50
EMT 20 10 10 40
EMR 8 4 4 16

You may also like...